Gov Abdulrazaq Emerges New NGF Chairman

We may earn money or products from the companies mentioned in this post. please note that some of the links below are affiliate links, and at no additional cost to you, we will earn a commission when you use one of the links. The company pays us for referral link sharing, which helps us run this blog and give our in-depth content to our readers for free.


Kwara State governor,  Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq, has emerged as the new chairman of the Nigeria Governors’ Forum (NGF) following a unanimous consensus among members.

Abdulrazak takes over from the outgoing Sokoto State governor, Aminu Tambuwal.

The election of Governor Abdulrazaq ushers in a fresh era of leadership within the NGF, signaling a collective commitment to steer Nigeria towards a prosperous future.

Accompanying him in the deputy role is Oyo State governor, Seyi Makinde, who assumes the position of Vice-Chairman of NGF.

Outgoing chairman of NGF, Tambuwal said in a communique after an emergency meeting of the forum on Tuesday night, That central to the meeting’s agenda was the successful conclusion of the induction programme for both new and returning governors, held from May 14th to May 19th, 2023.

According to him, members of the NGF expressed their contentment with the programme’s outcomes, underscoring its significance in fostering collaboration, peer review mechanisms, and knowledge exchange at the sub-national level.

Furthermore, he said the governors emphasised the importance of forging robust partnerships with the Federal Government and other institutions to strengthen governance frameworks.

Tambuwal delivered a crucial update during the meeting, revealing that the Honorable Minister of Finance had heeded the NGF’s request to cease further deductions from state accounts to meet London Paris Club obligations of Local Government Councils.

As a result, the deducted funds will be promptly returned to the states, alleviating their financial burdens.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *